College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Byron A. Alexander Graduate Mentor Award and the

John C. Wright Graduate Mentor Award

Each year, graduate students in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences are invited to nominate faculty and academic staff for the Byron A. Alexander and John C. Wright Outstanding Graduate Mentor Awards.  These awards are presented to faculty and academic staff who provide outstanding mentorship to master's and doctoral students.  They inspire their student through their own teaching, research, and mentoring, foster a collegial learning environment, successfully balance personal support and professional guidance, and prepare their student for careers in the academy and beyond.

Deadline and Nomination Procedure

For more information, see the Byron A. Alexander and John C. Wright Graduate Mentor Award call for nominations

Complete nomination packets must be submitted using the online form by noon (12:00 p.m.) on Friday, April 2, 2021. Late nominations will not be accepted. If you have questions or would like more information, please email or call 864-4201.

Please click here to submit a nomination

Previous Awardees

Byron A. Alexander
Outstanding Graduate Mentors

  • 1993–Professor John C. Wright
  • 1994–Professor Linda Stone-Ferrier
  • 1995–Professor Diana Carlin
  • 1996–Professor Amy J. Devitt
  • 1997–Professor Byron A. Alexander
  • 1998–Professor Carol Warren
  • 1999–Professor Jack Porter
  • 2000–Professor Stephen Goddard
  • 2001–Professor Jack Weller
  • 2002–Professor Mehrangiz Najafizadeh
  • 2003–Professor Mary Lee Hummert
  • 2004–Professor Rick Snyder
  • 2005–Professor Mark Richter
  • 2006–Professor A. Townsend Peterson
  • 2007–Professor Joann Keyton
  • 2007–Professor Robert Timm
  • 2007–Professor Robert Rowland
  • 2008–Professor Geraldo de Sousa
  • 2008–Professor William Johnson
  • 2009–Professor Alison Gabriele
  • 2009–Professor Theodore A. Wilson
  • 2010–Professor Mikhail Barybin
  • 2011–Professor Juliet Kaarbo
  • 2012–Professor John Janzen
  • 2012–Professor Eve Levin
  • 2013–Professor Stephen Egbert
  • 2013–Professor Ric Steele
  • 2014–Professor Maria Carlson
  • 2015–Professor Nyla Branscombe
  • 2016– Professor Paula Fite
  • 2016–Professor Don Haider-Markel
  • 2017-Professor Luis Corteguera
  • 2018-Professor Alesha Doan
  • 2019-Professor Hannah Britton
  • 2019-Professor ChangHwan Kim
  • 2020-Professor James Bever
  • 2021-Professor Utako Minai

John C. Wright
Outstanding Graduate Mentors

  • 2002–Professor Annette Stanton
  • 2003–Professor John F. Sweets
  • 2004–Professor Linda Stone-Ferrier
  • 2005–Professor Iris Smith Fischer
  • 2006–Professor Bill Picking
  • 2007–Professor Craig Lunte
  • 2008–Professor John (Chris) Brown
  • 2008–Professor Rick Ingram
  • 2009–Professor Mabel Rice
  • 2009–Professor Rolfe Mandel
  • 2010–Professor Leisha DeHart-Davis
  • 2011–Professor Adrianne Kunkel
  • 2012–Professor Randal Jelks
  • 2013–Professor Michael Roberts
  • 2014–Professor Amy Rossomondo
  • 2015–Professor W. Matthew Gillispie
  • 2016–Professor Omri Gillath
  • 2017-Professor William Barnett
  • 2018-Professor Kelsie Forbush 
  • 2019-Professor Eric Vernberg
  • 2019-Professor Sarah Kirk
  • 2020-Professor Jarron Saint Onge
  • 2021-Professor Mary Jo Reiff